April Is For Spring Showers and Poems

April is National Poetry Month, which was started in 1996 by the Academy of American Poets.

There are lots of fun ways you can celebrate poems in April! Here’s a little list:

  1. Write a poem.
  2. Read a poem.
  3. Participate in Poem in Your Pocket Day (April 18!).
  4. Attend a poetry reading.


I don’t generally set out to write poetry, but sometimes a poem will overtake me and I’ll have to write it down. And I never claim to be a poet because I have a terrible fear of being a bad poet.

This is silly, of course, because one must start somewhere. Get all the bad work out to make space for the good.

To this end! I’ve given myself the challenge of writing a poem every day for Poetry Month. I’m a little behind, but as long as I end up having 30 poems by the end of April, that’s a lot of poems and a lot of good practice.

I’m also running a magnetic poetry contest at the writing center. It’s great fun! I especially love seeing people who initially protest the idea of writing a magnetic poem sit down and become entirely absorbed in the words.


If you’re not into poetry, chances are you just haven’t found the right poet for you–they come in all kinds!

You could start by listening to this little boy recite Billy Collins, or by checking out Austin Kleon’s newspaper blackout poems, or by picking up a copy of Mr. Silverstein’s Where the Sidewalk Ends (remember that!?). Maybe this could be your month to discover a new poet love.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “April Is For Spring Showers and Poems

  1. dulzimordash says:

    Reblogged this on Nature’s Abhorred Vacuum.

  2. I didn’t know you were trying to write one poem for each day in April! (I just saw this post.) How did it go?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

